Skip to Content

Resource hub

GCR block descriptions: Quaternary Geology and Geomorphology 1997


Provided here are the Quaternary Geology and Geomorphology GCR block descriptions, produced as part of the Geological Conservation Review. These ‘blocks’ provided an overall structure for site selection by ensuring that the different themes of geoheritage or Earth science would receive comparable treatment.

The Quaternary Geology and Geomorphology blocks are classified on a regional basis. Sites were selected to represent the stratigraphy of Quaternary successions and the development of landforms.

The Quaternary Geology and Geomorphology block descriptions provided here include the following:

  • Block 74: Quaternary of Cumbria (QA-CUM);
  • Block 75: Quaternary of East Anglia (QA-E-AG);
  • Block 76: Quaternary of Midlands - Avon (QA-MIDS);
  • Block 77: Quaternary of North-East England (QA-NE-E);
  • Block 78: Quaternary of the Pennines and Adjacent Areas (QA-PEN);
  • Block 79: Quaternary of Scotland (QA-SC);
  • Block 80: Quaternary of South Central England (QA-SC-E);
  • Block 81: Quaternary of South-East England (QA-SE-E);
  • Block 82: Quaternary of Somerset (QA-SOM);
  • Block 83: Quaternary of South-West England (QA-SW-E);
  • Block 84: Quaternary of the Thames (QA-THA);
  • Block 85: Quaternary of Wales (QA-WL).

More detailed information about the topics covered in each block can be found in the relevant GCR volume.

Resource type Publication

Topic category Environment

Reference date 1997··

GCR block descriptions for the Quaternary Geology and Geomorphology category, produced through the Geological Conservation Review.

Responsible organisation
Communications, JNCC distributor

Limitations on public access No limitations

Use constraints Available under the Open Government Licence 3.0

Metadata date 2024·04·16

Metadata point of contact
Communications, JNCC

Back to top