Skip to Content

Resource hub

Common Standards Monitoring Guidance for Reptiles and Amphibians 2004


This guidance deals with Common Standards Monitoring (CSM) for non-marine reptiles and amphibians on designated sites, including SSSIs, ASSIs and Special Areas of Conservation (SACs).

There are 12 species of non-marine reptiles and amphibians (collectively termed herpetofauna) generally accepted to be native to Britain. This document includes guidance on selecting attributes and setting targets for individual species and assemblages of reptiles and amphibians where these are interest features on SSSIs, ASSIs and cSACs.

he guidance is summarised in four tables, which cover the following features:

Great crested newt Triturus cristatus

Natterjack toad Bufo calamita

Amphibian assemblages

Reptiles - individual species and assemblages

Resource type Publication

Topic category Environment

Reference date 2004·02·01

JNCC (2004) Common Standards Monitoring Guidance for Reptiles and Amphibians, Version February 2004, JNCC, Peterborough, ISSN 1743-8160.

JNCC and the country nature conservation bodies commenced a programme to develop guidance across the range of species, habitat and earth science features which occur on UK protected sites.

Responsible organisation
Digital and Data Solutions, JNCC publisher

Limitations on public access No limitations

Use constraints Available under the Open Government Licence 3.0

Metadata date 2019·08·20

Metadata point of contact
Digital and Data Solutions, JNCC

Back to top