Skip to Content

Resource hub

Coasts and Seas of the United Kingdom: Regions 1 to 17 (1995–1998) 1998


Effective management of the coastal zone depends on good knowledge of its resources and what affects them. JNCC's Coastal Directories Project, co-ordinated by JNCC on behalf of a wide-ranging funding consortium, collated extensive baseline environmental and human use information, including fisheries, for the coastal and nearshore marine zone of the whole of the UK, including Northern Ireland, the Isles of Scilly, Shetland, Orkney and the Isle of Man. The information is designed to meet the needs of planners and coastal zone managers and users.

The volumes are split by region:

  • Region 1. Shetland
  • Region 2. Orkney
  • Region 3. North-east Scotland: Cape Wrath to St Cyrus
  • Region 4. South-east Scotland: Montrose to Eyemouth
  • Region 5. North-east England: Berwick-upon-Tweed to Filey Bay
  • Region 6. Eastern England: Flamborough Head to Great Yarmouth
  • Region 7. South-east England: Lowestoft to Dungeness
  • Region 8. Sussex: Rye Bay to Chichester Harbour
  • Region 9. Southern England: Hayling Island to Lyme Regis
  • Region 10. South-west England: Seaton to the Roseland Peninsula
  • Region 11. The Western Approaches: Falmouth Bay to Kenfig
  • Region 12. Wales: Margam to Little Orme
  • Region 13. Northern Irish Sea: Colwyn Bay to Stranraer, including the Isle of Man
  • Region 14. South-west Scotland: Ballantrae to Mull
  • Regions 15 & 16. North-west Scotland: the Western Isles and west Highland
  • Region 17. Northern Ireland

Resource type Publication

Topic category Oceans

Reference date 1998··

The 'Coasts and Seas of the United Kingdom' series was produced through JNCC's Coastal Directories Project.

Responsible organisation
Communications, JNCC distributor

Limitations on public access No limitations

Use constraints Available under the Open Government Licence 3.0

Metadata date 2020·06·29

Metadata point of contact
Communications, JNCC

Back to top